News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

74 charger rides like school bus and sounds like a squeaking bed springs

Started by jdscofield, October 12, 2014, 10:06:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jdscofield

I've been restoring my 74 charger for two years now.  I finally got it on the road.  The performance isn't where i want it, but it rides and drives well.  so, now i want to concentrate on the other stuff, namely the suspension.  I have replaced the rear shocks with some monroe gas adjust shocks while i was laid off.  The previous ones were shot and they were cheap.  I also replaced the inner and outer tie rod ends.  The front shocks still need to be replaced.  This car bounces and squeaks and doesn't handle very well.  Can anybody give me some suggestions and name brands?
MOPAR or no car

HPP

I'd call the guys up at Firm Feel and see what improvements they can offer in shocks. Even your new gas adjust units are not that great these days and an improved shock will go a long way to improving feel. you probably also need to replace the subframe bushings. That will help with the bounce and squeaks. They also can suggest improved t-bars and spring rates as well. 

Paul G

Your probably going to find that most everything under the car is worn out. Rubber bushings just go bad after so many years. You can try some spray like WD40 or the like, spray the upper control arm bushings down good and go for a ride. Try the lower control arm bushings next. Spring bushings on the rear leafs. See what quiets down the most. K frame bushings get squashed out over the years too. You can mostly see if one of them is gone, or they all might be. 
1972 Charger Topper Special, 360ci, 46RH OD trans, 8 3/4 sure grip with 3.91 gear, 14.93@92 mph.