News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

picking up someone else's project. crazy?

Started by wingsuit, February 23, 2017, 10:48:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

wingsuit

quick background, I'm new to the idea of restoring cars. I'm mechanically inclined, pick up new things quick. ie start home reno projects and learn on the go etc. But I never worked on cars growing up. I had recently decided that a 60-70's era car would be a great place to start, as they seem simple enough that it seemed like an attainable goal.

To that end I picked up a nice condition 240z that my plan was to disassemble and learn as I go (ie pull off the suspension and replace with coilovers, redo the underbody to help rust protect, swap to a limited slip diff. Its a great looking car, but I just dont have that hook of the "when I was a kid I dreamed to have one of these". To me that car was a 68 charger. I had initially looked past them as all I came across was ads for restored 70,000-100,000$ cars and didnt think it was in the cards. Not knowing enough to keep looking for projects.

well I found a project that has me tempted to sell the 240 and swap to this which is why I'm here.