News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Ignition Conversion... Ballast and Voltage Regulator Question

Started by bee_fishy_6869, December 01, 2006, 11:17:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bee_fishy_6869

Hey Guys,
Last weekend I converted my ignition on my 69 coronet 318 from points to electronic. I took a bit of a different approach since I'm a poor college student on a budget. I picked up a distributor from an engine shop for $20, got the module as a pull off from a 73 charger 318, and got a new wiring harness from one of my friends (dodge tech) for free. I stabbed the distributor and timed it to revive her again and she's alive. The points were burnt out and fouled the plugs bad(replaced). Runs a lot smoother now. A decent budget upgrade so far. $35 with fresh plugs...

My question is; what specific ballast resistor should I be using. From a receipt I found in the car the resistor was replaced a few years ago with the points system still in use, but I'm guessing the recently replaced ballast still falls under the points style ohm rating.  Anyone know the part# I need for the electronic style 2 prong resistor? Also, I read in the Mopar mag (dealership issued) that I should change out the Voltage Regulator from electromech to solid state style to provide a constant 12volts to the ECU, part# recomendation?

Even though she's not a charger (2nd gens are my favorite car), I still consider it my poor man's charger/charger's not as hot yet still doable sister for now. Regardless, I love it and I think its a great stepping stone if you can't yet afford a dream charger. Appreciate the help.

Ghoste

According to Chrysler, part # P2095501 or P5206436 will work.  It's a while since I bought one but I think I use the 6436 one in my car.