News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

suggest a camshaft

Started by 0X01B8, June 03, 2007, 10:03:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

0X01B8

So, I've got the notorious Purpleshaft .484 cam in my 440.  I decided I'm just gonna go ahead and replace it and stop trying to treat the symptoms - low vacuum, almost impossible to tune the carb, etc.  I'd rather not 'cause I've never done a camshaft before, but I guess I'm up for it.

I notice there's a newer purpleshaft 484 (P5007697) but with "revised centerline for improved street drivability."  Should I even risk another one of these?  Does anybody have any suggestions for a replacement?  Despite my problems with this cam I've been happy (sometimes terrified) with the engine at WOT.  No complaints there.

Anyway, thanks and here's my config:

Stock intake & exhuast - hemi mufflers
Carter (Edelbrock) 750 AFB
TCI saturday night special torque converter w/ shift kit
3.23 gears

jg68

Quote from: 0X01B8 on June 03, 2007, 10:03:32 AM
So, I've got the notorious Purpleshaft .484 cam in my 440.  I decided I'm just gonna go ahead and replace it and stop trying to treat the symptoms - low vacuum, almost impossible to tune the carb, etc.  I'd rather not 'cause I've never done a camshaft before, but I guess I'm up for it.

I notice there's a newer purpleshaft 484 (P5007697) but with "revised centerline for improved street drivability."  Should I even risk another one of these?  Does anybody have any suggestions for a replacement?  Despite my problems with this cam I've been happy (sometimes terrified) with the engine at WOT.  No complaints there.

Anyway, thanks and here's my config:

Stock intake & exhuast - hemi mufflers
Carter (Edelbrock) 750 AFB
TCI saturday night special torque converter w/ shift kit
3.23 gears