News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

can I do it myself????

Started by RECHRGD, October 24, 2007, 10:14:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RECHRGD

I've wanted to turn up the horsepower dial on the 440 for quite awhile but never had the time to do it before now.  I even talked to Chryco about doing it a few years back, but it doesn't seem economically feasable to haul the old boy down here from the great white north.  The question:  If I just was to change the heads / cam / valvetrain what tools would be involved and if I've never done this before should I even attempt it.  The car is now capable of mid 13's but, I would like to be able to get into mid/low 12's or better with street radials.  The engine is bored 30 over (I think) and has 30K miles on the build.
The current set-up is as follows:
1- 1971 block w/ forged crank and TRW forged flat tops.  (The block was decked, but I have no idea how much).  I'm guessing around 9.5 CR.
2- Holley 750 DP.
3- Performer RPM intake.
4- Mallory Unilite ignition.
5- 346 heads w/ 3 angle valve job.
6- Hooker Competition headers (ceramic coated).
7- Erson #100 Cam (have no specs, but is close to a stock magnum grind with more duration).
8- Windage tray.
9- High volume mechanical fuel pump.
10- Aluminum radiator with aux. electric pusher fan and High volume water pump.
11- 727 Torqueflight w/ trans-go kit.
12- Motor home converter (a few hundred rpm's over stock).
13- Gear Vendors O/D unit.
14- 8 3/4" rear with 3:55's & suregrip.
15- 28" tall street radials on rear.

I have a tranny guy that's going to freshen & beef-up the 727 a bit.  At that time, I will change out the converter to match whatever cam you guys may recommend.  Turbo action?  With a B&M flexplate?