News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Flat Black Paint Questions

Started by zerfetzen, November 28, 2007, 08:19:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

zerfetzen

Is there anything different about how to paint your car flat black in your garage, compared to the normal shine?

I have a 17 gallon compressor (so I'm guessing I can paint, but it has to be in short spurts) and a $70 Husky gravity-fed gun.  I was looking at the Hot Rod Flatz flat black (http://www.tcpglobal.com/kustomshop/ksflatz.aspx) color.  Does anyone have any experience painting flat black, any recommended paints?

Any recommended primers?  I'm new to painting, and getting confused.  Should I use epoxy primer or urethane primer (if I use Hot Rod Flatz, it's a single-stage urethane paint)?  Should I use primer or primer/sealer, or both?

I can find a few articles on how to paint your car in your garage, but they are all with regular color, and am wondering how to do this best with what I have, and which paint, which primer.  Thanks.
Current Daily Driver: 2006 Dodge Charger RT
Current Project: 1969 Dodge Charger
Previous Cars I want back: 1974 Barracuda, 1973 Cuda

J-440