News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Way Way off topic, venting. anyone else here fix gas pool heaters?

Started by dkn1997, July 26, 2005, 06:25:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dkn1997

Man, I just have to vent.

I just got promoted this year to service manager at a high end custom pool builder.  I was a field mechanic for 3 years at this place and had 12 years in the field at my previous job.

Once in a while, I still go out in the field to fix some things that my guys cannot.  I actually look forward to it.  Tonight, I get stuck going to the boss's brother's house for a heater problem.  I sent "bob" there 2x and he replaced just about everything in the heater.  Here is what I find:

Laars Lite, model LD250N

-Brand new ignition control
-fusible link (roll out sensor) totally disconnected with a redundent high limit put in it's place.(wtf???)
-new hot surface ignitor.

heater fires for about 30 seconds and shuts down.

I cleaned the burner tray and it fires right up and stays lit basically forever.  Are you F'ing kidding me?  this guy wastes at least $100.00 in parts and over 3 hours billable time and he could have taken about 15 minutes and solved it?

I must be the only boss in the world who actually has more tech knowledge and troubleshooting skills than the guys who work for him.  Every boss I ever had never knew what side of a screwdriver to use. 

I know, most of this post makes no sense unless you work on these for a living, or maybe some other type of gas appliance, but you get the idea.

:flame:
RECHRGED

tomonty

I have absolutely no idea what you just said....but it's ok. Vent Away!!! :icon_smile_big: