News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Tube bending

Started by Ghoste, June 27, 2009, 12:07:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ghoste

Any tips for tube bending and keeping kinks out?  Working with 3/8 steel tube and I want some nicely rounded and even 90 degree bends.

mopar_nut_440_6

I am by no means a pro at this but having a good quality bender with the degrees on it will make things a lot better. Less expensive benders tend to deflect a lot when trying to bend 3/8 line. I once bought a KD bender but it did not do a great job. You will also want to do some test bends so that when you are bending your longer runs you will know where to start and finish.
1968 Charger R/T 440 
2004 Dodge Ram 2500 680 HP Cummins with attitude

Ghoste

I have a good quality bender but I was hoping that there is some kind of insert or, I don't know- a poor mans mandrel of some type, that would make kink free bends at home.

Tilar

I have a pretty good bender, but something i've done in the past is take something like a pipe, maybe an extension or something the same diameter as the bend I want.  Clamp the the pipe or extension or whatever you choose in a vice and then using your hands bend the brake line. You can also use the vice to hold the one end of the line if your trying to bend close to the end.  You do have to be careful to not flatten out the line but I have pretty good luck with them not kinking.
Dave  

God must love stupid people; He made so many.

mikepmcs

pack the line with sand before you bend it.
Life isn't Father Knows Best anymore, it's a kick in the face on a saturday night with a steel toed grip kodiak work boot and a trip to the hospital all bloodied and bashed.....for reconstructive surgery. But, what doesn't kill us, makes us stronger, right?

Musicman