News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

VIBRATION!!! I FOUND IT!!!!!!

Started by RECHRGD, November 05, 2009, 11:14:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RECHRGD

Some of you may remember the vibration that I've been chasing for two years now.  I've blamed it on the Gear Vendors unit creating pinion angle problems, but now I'm not so sure.  The vibration comes on between 65 and 75 mph and goes away after that.  I've gone to different shops and all of their "experts" have tried different pinion angles with no improvement.  The vibration is more pronounced under power than not.  It is not severe, but you can feel it on your butt and the rear view mirror starts to get fuzzy.  Here's a list of what I've tried to date:
1- Pinion up 2 degrees, left tranny angle alone.
2- Pinion down 2 degrees, left tranny angle alone.
3- Pinion down 4 degrees, left tranny angle alone.
4- Pinion down 4 degrees, raised tranny mount 1/4".
5- Pinion down 8 degrees, raise tranny mount 3/8" (cannot raise tranny any more).
6- Pinion up 2 degrees, tranny down 2 degrees.
7- Had driveshaft rebalanced.
8- Had new driveshaft built and balanced.
9- Ran it up to speed on jack stands without the rear wheels on.  No change.
10- Had all tires balanced.  No change.
11- Ran it up to speed without driveshaft.  No vibration!
12- Tried all the little tricks recommended by G/V. (straps on driveshaft, etc.).  No change.
13- Replaced Schumaker polylock engine and tranny mounts with stock units.  Softened the vibration and made it more comfortable to drive, but definitely did not fix the problem.
14- Put new tighter yoke on tranny (G/V unit).  No change.