News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

ok mopar gods, newbie here with a odd stumble from stop - HELP!!!

Started by 69chargeryeehaa, January 04, 2006, 02:34:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

69chargeryeehaa

Hey guys, newbie here, good forum read it all the time.  my question is on a 1969 dodge charger, has a 74 440hp from a new yorker, 727, 8 3/4 suregrip (spring type 489 case) 3.23 gears, hooker headers, electronic ign, elderbrock ch4b intake, afb competition serries 750cfm 9755s 4bbl carb, very mild cam.  so that is the specs, and heres the problem: from a stop, like at a light, if i am to start off a normal launch, just cruising acceleration, i get a stumble, or hesitation, more like a hesitation.  only at one specific pedal position-meaning is i give it a little more acceleration the power instantly comes on, a little less and it goes away but I'm hardly accelerating.  this only happens from a stop.  I'm at a total loss as to what could cause this, it's driving me crazy, I've been thru the ignition, timing is dead on.  about 6 btdc and about 36 btdc total, no ping at wot in high gear, runs awesome otherwise.  I'm thinking accelerator pump? fuel problem? any ideas?  also while I'm on this, what thermostat are you guys running and why? I'm running a 195 deg F stat, is there an issue with running a 160 deg F stat? any input from you guys greatly appreciated. ;D :icon_smile_big:

martin

69chargeryeehaa