News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

a paint question

Started by 67hcode, January 29, 2006, 04:46:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

67hcode

I'm painting a few bike parts and I'm using basecoat clear coat. I'm still pretty new to base/ clear paints because I haven't done much painting in years. I'm practicing on some of my parts before I paint the charger this spring. Anyway, the guy at the paint shop sold me some ppg base, I think it's dbu  and for clear he sold me some omni mc161 , here's the problem I keep having with it. After spraying the base and clear and wetsanding this fender, I noticed a small spot where I had burned through while wetsanding. I mixed up a bit of clear and tryed to hit the spot with a little color and it caused a big spot to lift on me, kinda like blistered. I ended up sanding down the spot and figured I'd seal it with some primer and spray some color on top of the primer. When I hit the spot with primer, the primer is causing it to lift!  Is this stuff always such a pain in the ass!  I'm about ready to sand the whole thing down to metal and start over with something else!
Any help or advice would really be appreciated.
Thanks,
Bob

Silver R/T

You should've used hardener/catalyst
http://www.cardomain.com/id/mitmaks

1968 silver/black/red striped R/T
My Charger is hybrid, it runs on gas and on tears of ricers
2001 Ram 2500 CTD
1993 Mazda MX-3 GS SE
1995 Ford Cobra SVT#2722

67hcode

I did use catalyst.  What im wondering is if all base coat clear coat is so touchy or did they just sell me some cheap crap

Drop Top