News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

A/C Heater Box Restoration Made Easy

Started by 440, May 01, 2012, 04:05:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

I've been working on this slowly for quite a while now and finally finished it (GTX beat me to it half way through). Hopefully you guys will get some use out of it. This is my heater box restoration. I'm not an expert (but I did stay at a Holiday Inn once) so if anyone sees anything I've done wrong with this please let me know so I can correct it, it is only a guide.

Unfortunately I didn't take many detailed photos overall during disassembly, so I'll start with the reassembly once I had all the parts cleaned, painted and ready for assembly. I had my hardware sent off to be re-plated and knew they would throw everything in one pile. I took quite a few photos of the screws and the screw locations during disassembly. I also took a few labeled photos of the screws themselves so I knew exactly what each screw/nut looked like and where it came from. It's also a good idea incase something goes missing that you'll know exactly what it is. I also took photos of the order in which the linkages came off so I could put it back on the same way. I would also test the vacuum pots to make sure they work and don't leak before you spend the time to clean them up. Another point (as also mentioned by GTX) is to take care when removing the evaporator drain tube ferrules from the drain tubes which are copper, they can be a real pain so take your time and go easy on them.