News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

wedge engines,

Started by 69 rt, February 01, 2006, 09:03:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

69 rt

I am rather new to this hobby and I hear readers talk of wedge engines, what years did they make a wedge engine and is my 1969 RT 440 considered a Wedge?
Thanks
69 rt

RD

they made them from 1959-1978 as far a big block wedges go.  they ranged from 350, 361, 383, 400, 413, 426w, and 440.
67 Plymouth Barracuda, 69 Plymouth Barracuda, 73 Charger SE, 75 D100, 80 Sno-Commander

Big Lebowski

Quote from: 69 rt on February 01, 2006, 09:03:35 PM
I am rather new to this hobby and I hear readers talk of wedge engines, what years did they make a wedge engine and is my 1969 RT 440 considered a Wedge?
Thanks
69 rt

440 RB (raised block)
"Let me explain something to you, um i am not Mr. Lebowski, you're Mr. Lebowski. I'm the dude, so that's what you call me. That or his dudeness, or duder, or you know, el duderino if you're not into the whole brevity thing."

Headrope

As I've always understood it ... "Wedge" refers to the shape of the combustion chamber inside the heads. So, depending how technical you want to be, most every B or RB engine could be considered a wedge motor. Usually, though, "wedge" is reserved for describing race motors, such as the 413 Max Wedge ... or by folks who want to add a little more excitement to the description of their motors, or by folks who took a motor smaller than 426, and bored it out to achieve or excede the same displacement while keeping the wedge heads.