News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

No politics... but seriously How long do you think we have left with these cars?

Started by 73chgrSE, January 30, 2021, 10:43:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

73chgrSE

Remember that Rush song Red Barchetta?  Feels like we are getting close to the "motor law". All the big 3 have pretty much said electrics are on the way soon. Planning to do a Tesla engine swap anyone??? LOL. I say within 10 years only millionaires will own classic cars in their private museums and probably wont be able to drive them on public roads.

70 sublime

I say at least another 50 years
Might not even be electric by then either is the power of choice

I am a farmer and can not see a battery powered tractor ever replacing what I have now to get the job done

After 50 years I will be 106 years old so will not really care by then  :2thumbs:
next project 70 Charger FJ5 green

Mike DC

Follow the money.  

What industry stands to get richer by kicking classic cars off the road?  I don't see one.  Classics don't cut into modern car sales much.  Detroit caters to its classic fan base rather than fighting it.    

Environmental groups?  Car guys are terrified of them but they don't have much real power.  (Look at any pipeline or drilling or logging issue.)  If they were capable of getting our cars off the road I think they would have done it already.  They were lobbying against us and setting Humvee dealerships on fire 20 years ago.