News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

best tool for sanding down to metal?

Started by 1BAD68, March 14, 2007, 08:28:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

1BAD68

what tool requires the least effort and works the fastest to sand down factory paint to metal?
I'm using a electric disk sander with 220 grit right now and it seems to take forever, no I dont have a compressor yet.

MOPARHOUND!

I'm an amateur myself, but I've heard a lot of guys recommending 80 grit, with some liking 120.

Too coarse, and you will gouge the metal.  Too fine, and you will not have a rough enough surface for the paint to "bite" and stick to, and be seemingly forever getting the paint off.

Technique is important to.  Spend of the sander should not be too high.  Also, stay too long in one spot, and you will heat up the metal, clogging your disk quickly.  You also risk warping the body panel.

Another school of thought says save the wear and tear on your hands, elbows, and shoulders, and use chemical strippers.  Problem with the strippers are the bad fumes, corrosive to your skin (will burn you), and the big mess they make you get to clean up.

Here is a short "Stripping Paint" thread that touches on both ways (though I'd question using 40 grit, too coarse?):

http://board.moparts.org/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=0&Board=QuestionAnswer&Number=3167448&Searchpage=1&Main=3167165&Words=%26quot%3B80+grit%26quot%3B&topic=&Search=true#Post3167448

Here is an experienced auto body man's recommendations:

http://www.autobodystore.com/strip_&_paint.htm

They also sell the tools and supplies mentioned in the article:

http://autobodystore.net/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Category_Code=SPAR