News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Water Pump Housing Modification - No Thermostat ? ?

Started by 1969RT440, June 30, 2012, 12:23:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

1969RT440

Hello to all - Dodgecharger.com members - newbie here.

I have a question about keeping my 440 cool. 

Some years ago I spoke to a guy who races a 440 magnum 68 Charger.  He told me that he took care of his cooling problem by going without a thermostat.  Before doing this he had to restrict the passage hole inside of the housing.  All I can recall is that the factory size hole is drilled, threaded and a pipe nipple is installed.

Unfortunately I didn't write down the specs of this modification.  Is anyone familiar with this modification?  If so, does it work?   :shruggy:

Any input welcome - Thanks Dan

Chryco Psycho

you can accomplish the same thing by just using a washer to restrict the hole size or just using the thermostat with the center mechanism removed

Bobs69

I have a question.  Do you (or any of us) really want to go without a thermostate on any car?  I was under the impression that the water had to stay in the rad long enough to get cooled off?  Just looking to be educated here. 

Actually, I seen another thread on this some time ago and I drilled, oh I don't know maybe a 1/8" hole in the thermostate to work as a "bleeder". 

Chryco Psycho

Every time I have removed the thermo the engine has run hotter . All the thermo does is set the minimum temp in the engine , once the thermo is open the temp can rise & it depends on air flow through the rad & out of the engine compartment  & the efficiency of the rest of the cooling system to keep the temp down .