News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Cluster Restoration.

Started by lilwendal, December 28, 2007, 08:29:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lilwendal

I've been doing 68 to 70 cluster restos for several years now and was thinking I'd start a thread showing the processess I go through on a typical cluster for those wishing to take on thier cluster.  There will be many tips and sources to make the job easier.  This will occur over several posts and I'll try to get as many pics involved as possible. If there is anything in particular you would like to see or know feel free to ask.
I have koi 'fish' as well and was once told you become an expert at rasing koi once you've killed a couple hundred.  Well that applies here as well and have words of wisdom for things I have done that did not work and parts I have ruined.
Disclaimer..........  I do not claim to be an expert at anything. There are lots of others that do these clusters that utilize  different methods and products than seen in this thread. This is mearly my way.

Below is pictured your basic 40 year old cluster that will be restored.
1. First step will be to completely disassemble the cluster.  Remove the bezel, switches, lens, gauges and cicuit board.
Now you should be staring at a cluster housing that still has the 5 small blue lenses for backlighting and the red brake lens.