News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

440 Rebuild HOT STREET!!!

Started by Charger_Martin, June 11, 2008, 05:13:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Charger_Martin

Hi.

Im new here and would like to know a few things.

Rebuilding my 440 block and want like to know how much this would cost.

I have no idea what parts to get since im kind of new to MOPAR CARS.

All I know is that I want around 500-550 hp.

Please help me out here, Martin

Blown70

Welcome to the site.  Do you have a buget?, or right off I would think some of the ALUM. Heads, possibly a stroker crank?

Edlebrock makes a nice head, that IMO is resonable.  You do not need them to make the horse you want just depends on what you want to do/ SPEND

I guess street use or track, weight of the car you are going to use it in.  DETAILS may help.

Tom

Charger_Martin

Is going in a charger from 1969.

No track, only street. Is it possible to not stroke my block but instead get the horses from just changing other parts?

Were thinking about spending around max 4000 dollars.

Musicman

A really nice smooth running street motor can be built without stoking that will produce 450 HP and 550 TQ, along with lots of vacuum for power accessories.
Of course the sky's the limit on power really, it's simply that the higher you go, the more street comfort you are going to sacrifice. That's where the mild strokers start to shine... they give you that extra power without having to sacrifice your street manners....but it will come at the cost of some extra parts and machining.

Is that $4K for the engine only? What about Headers and Exhaust, etc?
The cost of rebuilding a stock engine is minimal, performance on the other hand cost money... as the man said, "How fast do you want to go".

Charger_Martin