News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Pegged amp gauge

Started by lasvegas69charg, July 17, 2014, 06:53:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lasvegas69charg

Hi. I was driving the other night and noticed the amp gauged pegged to the right. First thing I did I was come home and did a search here on the forums. I have checked everything out per the searches that I found. Voltage battery is 12.6. When the car is running the battery voltage is 13.9. When I disconnect the voltage reg the gauge goes back to 0. I changed out the voltage reg with a new one and still same issue. All the wiring is new in the car and have never had this problem before. I have a power master 7509 90amp alternator in the car that i bought new about 1.5 years ago. There is also a really bad electrical burning smell coming from the alternator and when I have the wire connected to the voltage reg there is a slight whine coming from the alt but goes away if I disconnect the wire on the voltage reg. The car is still wired as factory setup. I'm guessing the alt is bad. Any suggestions?
69 dodge charger 383/727/3.55 (my dad is the original owner-matching number) stroked to a 496😉

b5blue

Sounds like the regulator has puked. (Runaway charge.) Check bulkhead connectors also. (They burn quickly.)

lasvegas69charg

I replaced it with a new voltage reg and stills pegged. All the wires and connectors look new.
69 dodge charger 383/727/3.55 (my dad is the original owner-matching number) stroked to a 496😉

Pete in NH

Hi,